Welcome to the McCoy College of Business graduate blog! As Matt mentioned in his last post, I am the other primary writer here and Graduate Academic Advisor for the MBA and Master of Science in Human Resource Management (MSHRM) programs at Texas State.

Like Matt, I am a McCoy MBA alum and loved my time in the program. (We’ll expand on some of the fantastic opportunities students can take advantage of in future posts!)

After graduating with my bachelor’s degree, I was lucky enough to land a job in human resources with a lighting manufacturing company here in San Marcos. The timing was perfect for me to challenge myself and get the most out of my career by earning my MBA–plus, as a native Houstonian I loved the small(er) town feel of San Marcos and knew I wanted to stick around a while!

BBowden_photoI made a move into recruiting as a hiring manager for Priority Personnel, a local staffing agency, in 2010. I gained tons of great experience and worked with amazing people there while finishing my MBA. I stayed actively involved with the business school by mentoring undergraduate students, advising student groups, and coaching them for various case competitions.

Earlier this year, I jumped at the chance to combine my passion for both Texas State and working with students into my dream job as an academic advisor. I love being back in McCoy and am excited about our ever-expanding graduate programs!

On the weekends you can find me traveling, reading, or taking advantage of the fantastic music scene in and around San Marcos. As we establish the blog please don’t hesitate to comment, share, provide feedback, or suggest topics you’d like to hear more about! You can reach me by e-mail (bbowden@txstate.edu), phone (512-245-3591), or LinkedIn.

